VMware – Disabling Time Synchronization vmtoolsd.exe

Disabling Time Synchronization (1189)

Details


In the VMware Tools control panel, the time synchronization checkbox is unselected, but you may experience these symptoms:

  • When you suspend a virtual machine, the next time you resume that virtual machine it synchronizes the time to adjust it to the host.
  • Time is resynchronized when you migrate the virtual machine using vMotion, take a snapshot, restore to a snapshot, shrink the virtual disk, or restart the VMware Tools service in the virtual machine (including rebooting the virtual machine).

Solution


The time synchronization checkbox controls only whether time is periodically resynchronized while the virtual machine is running. Even if this box is unselected, by default VMware Tools synchronizes the virtual machine’s time after a few specific events that are likely to leave the time incorrect.

There are two methods to completely disable time synchronization in the guest. Perform one of these options:

Note: Unlike the normal periodic time sync, which can move the guest clock only forward, these special time syncs can move the guest clock either forward or backward. If you want your guests to never sync backward in time, disable the options (by selecting "0" for each option).

For more information on time keeping, see Timekeeping in VMware Virtual Machines.

  • Add configuration options in the virtual machines .vmx file:
    1. Power off the virtual machine.
    2. Connect to the host with an SSH session. For more information, see Using ESXi Shell in ESXi 5.x (2004746).
    3. Open the virtual machines configuration file, located at /vmfs/volumes/datastore_name/vm_name/vm_name.vmx using a text editor. For more information, see Editing configuration files in VMware ESXi and ESX (1017022).
    4. Set these options to zero. If the entries do not exist, add them.

      Note: 0 = disabled, 1 = enabled.

      tools.syncTime = "0"
      time.synchronize.continue = "0"
      time.synchronize.restore = "0"
      time.synchronize.resume.disk = "0"
      time.synchronize.shrink = "0"
      time.synchronize.tools.startup = "0"
      time.synchronize.tools.enable = "0"
      time.synchronize.resume.host = "0"

      Note: In GSX, VMware Fusion, VMware Player and VMware Workstation, you must use "FALSE" instead of "0". For example:

      tools.syncTime = "FALSE"
      time.synchronize.continue = "FALSE"
      time.synchronize.restore = "FALSE"
      time.synchronize.resume.disk = "FALSE"
      time.synchronize.shrink = "FALSE"
      time.synchronize.tools.startup = "FALSE"
      time.synchronize.tools.enable = "FALSE"
      time.synchronize.resume.host = "FALSE"

  • Add configuration parameters using the vSphere Client:

    1. Select the virtual machine in the vSphere Client inventory and power it off.
    2. On the Summary tab, click Edit Settings.
    3. Click the Options tab and click General (under Advanced).
    4. Click Configuration Parameters, then click Add Row and add this information:
      Name Value
      tools.syncTime 0
      time.synchronize.continue 0
      time.synchronize.restore 0
      time.synchronize.resume.disk 0
      time.synchronize.shrink 0
      time.synchronize.tools.startup 0
      time.synchronize.tools.enable 0
      time.synchronize.resume.host 0

  • Add configuration parameters using the vSphere Web Client:
    1. Select the virtual machine in the vSphere Web Client inventory and power it off.
    2. Right click the virtual machine and choose Edit Settings
    3. Click the VM Options tab.
    4. Expand the Advanced option.
    5. Under Configuration Parameters click Edit Configuration.
    6. Click Add Row and add this information:
      Name Value
      tools.syncTime 0
      time.synchronize.continue 0
      time.synchronize.restore 0
      time.synchronize.resume.disk 0
      time.synchronize.shrink 0
      time.synchronize.tools.startup 0
      time.synchronize.tools.enable 0
      time.synchronize.resume.host 0

Note: When adding tools.syncTime via the Configuration Parameters in vSphere 5.x, it is not displayed again after the entry has been accepted and closed. When you view the vm_name.vmx file, you see the parameter inserted as tools.syncTime = "FALSE".

Additional Information